Good eats

DC Restaurant Week: Aug 24 through 30th.  For $35, the participating restaurants provide a three course meal, drinks, tax and tip not included, of course.

Attempted to make reservations today, aiming toward higher end places that make the fixed price menu a bargain.  (Even so, it’s hard to leave without spending at least $120 for 2, assuming at least one drink each plus tip.)  A lot of the places we were interested in are already booked, no surprise there, must be quick at Open Table for DC’s RW.

Reservations for:
Rasika (lunch, no dinner left)
Acadiana
Cafe Atlantico (lunch)
…and one other place I’ve already forgotten.
Bombay Club

Other places of interest that were booked:
Il Mulino
Taberna del Alabardero
Poste

Places I’d like to try outside of RW:
Potenza
Firefly
The Oval Room
Volt

Blue Duck Tavern, Citronelle and Michel Richard’s Central were not participating, otherwise they’d’ve been on my wish list, too.

The participating restaurants seemed heavy both on high-end steakhouses and small plates.

Will be eating PBJ the following week for make up for all the eating out.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Good eats

  1. So I’m going to guess that you are a person who will take risks with food. Bob and I are pretty set in our ways – many people ask if we’ve been to a few places in town and even though we have the only thing I would think of trying is the burger cause I’m not adventuresome. There is a restaurant we have not tried because there isn’t one thing on the menu Bob or I would even bother trying and it’s walking distance and the place is FANCY. We looked at the menu once and realized we couldn’t eat there. Sad.

    • Hi, Cindy.
      I don’t know about risks with food, more risks with restaurants. The ones I listed have gotten good reviews from food critics, but also from people I know. I assume that even if the cuisine won’t be my favorite, there’s bound to be at least one thing on the menu that will suit. There are things that I won’t try, and stuff like Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations (eww, he ate the still beating heart of a snake) are not for me.
      There’s nothing wrong with knowing what you like and sticking to it. There’s a reason for comfort food, and for being a regular at the neighborhood joint 😀 (My neighborhood favorite is a bbq place, and I don’t even need a menu b/c I order the same two or three things every time.)

  2. Anonymous

    The waitresses at our favourite joint know what I’m going to order. I sometimes feel bad for the cook because even he knows who I am and waves to me as I come in the door. I’m sure he’s grateful that my hubby at least changes things up.

Leave a Reply

