RWA Day 2

First up on the day’s agenda:  the Rogue Digital Publishing panel organized by Angela James, Jane Litte, Sarah Wendell and Kassia Krozer.  I arrived early and got a seat – there were 50 chairs to begin with but they all filled and people were sitting on the floor and standing in the back of the room. Met Kelly Maher/Young Librarian there, and chatted with K.A. Mitchell again.  [Won a door prize from her, must arrange to pick it up!]  I took a lot of notes and people Twittered like crazy (#rd09) but the best source of information is Jane’s summary over at Dear Author.  

During the Annual General Meeting, I checked into my hotel (about 5 blocks away from the conference hotel).  Returned for the Keynote Luncheon, which was packed.  Linda Howard is charming and very funny; she strikes me as somone who would do well roasting others.  The keynote address was entertaining: she told a variety of funny stories about her family and then pointed out that everyone lives with craziness in some ways, so just hunker down and write.  It was unlike any keynote speech I’ve ever heard before, in that it was not a speech that spent a lot of time addressing the theme of the conference (which is what the other keynotes I’ve heard do).  There was a little bit of discontent at my table about this; not that it was poorly delivered but that it wasn’t a "keynote".

Attended the workshop by Mary Jo Putney and Patti Nagle on fantasy, urban fantasy and paranormal romance.  Took a lot of notes, which I’ll try to add here later.  Very good speakers both of them, with different backgrounds (romance vs. fantasy).  MJP: in her mind vampires do NOT sparkle…but Meyer has successfully taken a power fantasy and made it safe.

Goody room and Avon booksigning yielded a bounty of books, chapter excerpts and bookmarks.  Kelley Armstrong, sadly, was not signing because there was a publisher mix up.  She looked a little forlorn, just sitting at an empty table.  Long lines for SEP and Julia Quinn.  Toddled off to the SBTB bootleg signing and caught the tale end of it, meeting Angela James.

Lauren Willig’s workshop on historical research and the tension between historical accuracy and too much history was pretty good.  More notes there to type up.

During the dinner break, I headed down to Dupont Circle and had dinner with L.  Walked back to the hotel with the plan of taking a shower, then going to Moonlight Madness a little late and checking out the Harlequin Pajama Party.  Thought I’d catch a quick nap before heading over…woke up at 1am, having missed both entirely 😦

Note to self:  look up books by Michelle Marcos.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “RWA Day 2

  1. I’m out of the loop but does MJP write paranormal now? Any new authors on the horizon?
    Aren’t naps evil 😉
    Cindys

    • She wrote some historical fantasy romances. I skipped them, because they weren’t my cup of tea.
      Let’s see,new authors. Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan got a lot of attention, in terms of historicals. They were both part of a workshop on getting big dollar deals for historicals. I met an Australian writer who has a Nocturne Byte coming out in August (I think. Or maybe September.) She writes about dragons, which is very cool.
      For YA, Simone Elkenes and her Perfect Chemistry was mentioned a couple of times.
      I want to check out Jessica Andersen’s books, because she seemed really cool at one chat session I attended, in terms of her writing process and ideas.

  2. I like what you said re: Linda Howard would be good at roasting people. A perfect description of her tone and comedic style. I loved her speech. Fantastic. The food that day? Not so much…

    • The food at lunch on both days…left something to be desired. But the restaurants nearby were pretty good and made up for it.
      I thought Howard was very funny, but there was some snark at my table about how they’d heard all those anecdotes before and didn’t think the speech was appropriate as a keynote address. Since I had no expectations, it didn’t matter to me, but I appreciated the humor. “Bless her heart…” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard people use that phrase to begin a cutting criticism.

Leave a Reply

