SBD: woman-eating coyote

I haven’t gotten much new reading done, despite the day off.  I planned on spending it sleeping in and then watching the Duff marathon on Food TV while trying to read my selection for this month’s TBR Challenge.  But no, at 7am a crane was rumbling across the street, driving me crazy with the noise and rattling, preventing my slothful plans.  Had to get away from the rumbling.  Which turned out to be a good thing, in terms of having something to write about for SBD, because I ended up wandering down the book aisle at Target.  Didn’t buy anything, but it gave me food for thought.

For your edification on this presidential SBD:  check out the woman-eating coyote on the cover of Lora Leigh’s newest "Breeds" book.
 

Truly, Lora Leigh is not a favorite author of mine.  She has a very large fan base and sells lots of books, though, so my squicks don’t matter in the scheme of things.  But I’ve got to wonder:  what was the art department thinking when they designed this cover?  Urine yellow-green?  Does that color have some relevance to the story?  And the positioning of the woman and the snarling coyote — looks like she’s about to be dinner, and not in a good way.  (Also, I can count her ribs, which is not the sexiest of things IMO.  But maybe a guy would disagree.)  If I were a random book browser, I would think this was some sort of horror novel.

Coyotes weigh about 30 pounds.  They aren’t big, macho animals.  I’m curious about how that is going to work in this story.  Also, when I think of coyotes, I think of Coyote the Trickster, and Mercy Thompson, and Kyprioth of Tamara Pierce’s series, and of Miles Vorkosigan, and Eugenides the Thief.  All characters who struggle against the status quo and the control of others.  Is the coyote character in this book another of those?  Or was the animal choice random?  I haven’t read LL’s stuff in a while, so I don’t know if her choices of animals for shifters are significant, in terms of the animal characteristics (beyond the purely biological, as in barbed penises, etc.) that the human/animal hero may have.  Anybody want to check the book out and tell me?  Because I’m curious, but not enough to buy or borrow the book to find out myself.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “SBD: woman-eating coyote

  1. Anonymous

    Urine yellow green. Yup, you got it right–that’s the color. They should have just gone to dailycoyote and bought one of Shreve’s shots.
    I wonder if coyotes knot like dogs because the last werewolf story I read had that occurring. No, I only wish I was making that up.
    kate r

  2. Not only that, but she looks like she’s TURNED ON by the pending coyote attack. That’s just creepy.

  3. Uh, oh. I have to admit that I bought this book because of the colour. I didn’t know there was a picture on it though. I just saw the overall colour and thought it was bright and cheery and that I’d been meaning to try Lora Leigh again.
    As a lover of wolves I would say the animal on the cover (from this picture) is a wolf. I don’t believe coyotes have those markings on their face.
    I wish I knew how I missed the teeth on that dog!
    Cindys

Leave a Reply

