Kindle and other e-readers as the savior of newspapers?

The Economist has been amazingly silent, IMO, about the publishing industry, ebooks and ereaders, given the amount of page space that the music industry, iTunes, and music’s DRM have gotten.  But check out this article, in which The Economist speculates that ebooks and the Kindle won’t have the same impact on book publishing that iTunes did on the music industry, but may instead change the way readers think of newspapers and save that ailing industry.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kindle and other e-readers as the savior of newspapers?

  1. Anonymous

    Thanks for the link! I love any article that doesn’t foretell the complete doom of newspapers. 🙂 My dad has worked for the same paper for 30 years, and is now hoping he can just hang on for another 5-7 so that he can retire.
    -jennie

    • I used to subscribe to my local paper, but stopped several years ago because it was delivered too late for me to read on the commute to work. I still read it, but instead online at lunchtime. So having an ereader that also lets me read the paper would be excellent — and I would be willing to pay for a subscription to a service that automatically “shipped” the daily paper to my reader. So I think The Economist has a point.

Leave a Reply

