Relapse

From 2001 through January 19, 2009, I suffered from Bush Derangement Syndrome.  I thought that this illness was cured by the election of Barack Obama.  Sadly, I realized yesterday that BDS is rather like malaria — I will be suffering relapses for years to come based on the behavior of the Bush administration.  Yesterday’s relapse was the result of Alberto Gonzalez’s statement to NPR that he should’ve been more engaged while he was the Attorney General.  JFC!  He was the Attorney General!  The head lawyer charged with enforcing the laws of the United States!  How could he not be engaged by that job?  It’s not like that lame summer job you took in high school for gas money, the one you didn’t really care about, just marking time till college or whatever your future plans were/are.  My theory — his "disengagement" is either a) a result of being overwhelmed and unqualified to actually be the AG, or b) yet another attempt to pass the blame on to others for the politicization of the DOJ (the subject of the interview).  I’m leaning toward b.

Also, my copy of The Sharing Knife: Horizons is waiting for me.  In the box.  It was waiting for me when I arrived home 5 hours ago, but I had the monumental will power to do work before indulging.  The will power was strengthened by the fact that I didn’t actually open the box.  If the box had been opened, there is no way I’d’ve completed any work.

Off to read.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Relapse

  1. Anonymous

    Horizons
    I’ve been saving a gift card I got for Christmas to buy Horizons. Yay! Tomorrow I will joyfully make my way to the B&N to buy it. 🙂 I might not get much school work done this weekend. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    jennie

    • Re: Horizons
      Hi, Jennie!
      Horizons is absolutely worth full hardback price. I’ve read it and re-read it, and am now trying to write a review that is something other than a full-out fangirl squee.
      I hope you enjoy it!
      jmc

  2. Anonymous

    BDS–oh, that made me laugh, since I suffer from the same malady. I think it must be malaria: once you have had it, you are prone to occasional relapses.
    And you are definitely right about Gonzalez.

    • Hi, Aoife.
      I want to stop feeling so bitter about the past administration, but am having a hard time of it, despite the hope of the new admin. Interviews like Gonzalez’s make it even harder.
      May I ask, what is the correct pronunciation of your name?
      Cheers,
      jmc

      • Anonymous

        It’s an Irish Gaelic version of “Eve,” and is pronounced with a long e for the “aoi” and “fe” is pronounced as fuh:
        ee-fuh
        It’s not my “real” name, but on the other hand, my “real” name isn’t the name I go by in everyday life!
        Aoife

  3. Anonymous

    Sorry, forgot to sign my name
    Aoife

Leave a Reply

