2008: the year in reading

Reading for the year:  186 books.  I haven’t broken the reading down by category, but a quick skim tells me that a significant portion of that reading was urban fantasy and/or paranormal romance, despite the fact that I long for fewer bloodsuckers and and creatures in my reading.  Ugh.

The best of the year?  Before opening up LibraryThing, where I keep my reading log, I sat down and tried to remember which books were standouts for me this year. My mind went blank. There were a lot of good books, but none of them sprang to mind immediately; all I could think of was the list of books I’m anticipating in 2009. It’s actually easier for me to think of authors and/or series that I’ve discovered this year:

  • Lori G. Armstrong – Julie Collins mysteries, and another series to be released beginning in 2010 (I think) (AKA Lorelei James, author of erotic romance, published by Samhain)
  • Rob Thurman – Cal Landros urban fantasy series; 4th installment due in early 2009
  • Julia Spencer-Fleming – Ferguson/VanAlstyne mystery series
  • Josh Lanyon – Adrien English mysteries, and miscellaneous other mysteries
  • Chelsea Cain – Gretchen Kimball mystery/suspense series

Individual books published in 2008 that wowed me were:

Collision Course by K.A. Mitchell (contemporary, m/m)
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (YA)
Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs (UF)
Passage by Lois McMaster Bujold (romantic fantasy)
Demon Night by Meljean Brook (paranormal romance)
Pride of Baghdad by Brian K. Vaughan (graphic novel)
Victory of Eagles by Naomi Novik (alternate history/fantasy)
Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews (UF)

Other books that I loved, but which were not published in 2008:

Marrying the Captain by Carla Kelly (european historical) (2009)
Rough Canvas by Joey Hill (contemporary, m/m) (2007)
The Chocolate Run by Dorothy Koomson (chick lit) (2004)
HeartSick by Chelsea Cain (mystery/suspense) (2007)
How to Undress a Cop by Sarah Cortez (poetry) (2000)
Beyond Breathless by Kathleen O’Reilly (category) (2007)
Nightlife by Rob Thurman (UF) (2006)
The World Without Us by Alan Weisman (NF) (2007)
A Dangerous Thing (Adrien English book #2) by Josh Lanyon (2007) (the copyright for MLR Press is 2007, but the reviews included at Amazon date back to 2002, so I’m wondering if it was released in some other format by another press)

Honorable Mentions:

I Shall Not Want by Julia Spencer-Fleming
What a Scoundrel Wants by Carrie Lofty, which also gets my vote for best debut of the year.
The Prince of Bagram Prison by Alex Carr (general fiction)
Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (YA)
Madhouse by Rob Thurman (UF)
Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs (UF)
Death of a Pirate King by Josh Lanyon (mystery)
A Lady’s Secret by Jo Beverley (european historical)
Snow Blind by Lori G. Armstrong (mystery)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

