Koko Market on Eastern

I’ve driven by Koko Market on Eastern Avenue a hundred times at least, but never paid attention. Stopped at the light today, I realized that the Arabic spelling is a direct transliteration of the words “Koko Market” rather than a translation. I was on the wrong side of the light, so I couldn’t read any of the products that were written in Arabic, but when the light changed and I accelerated, I caught the first word, which I believe was “lehem” meaning meat. Beef or lamb, not chicken.

Must check the hours of operation next time I go by. I’m not sure if it is a market that specializes in Middle Eastern products or what, although I assume that’s likely. I’m kind of surprised by its location, though, because I hadn’t realized there was a significant Arabic population in Dundalk. If asked, I would assume that neighborhood was mostly native Baltimoron (mix of race and ethnicity) with some Latino immigrants.

2 Comments

Filed under arabic, food

2 responses to “Koko Market on Eastern

  1. a.d

    Hi how are you. I dont know if you are still interested in Koko Market, but if so let me know, I'd be more than willing to help you out with anything you need.

  2. a.d

    Hi how are you. I dont know if you are still interested in Koko Market, but if so let me know, I'd be more than willing to help you out with anything you need.

Leave a Reply

