Reading ennui

My reading ennui continues.  After failed the fifty page test; the writing read as elementary to me and the POV was childish, even for NA.  Next?  That’s the problem, there’s nothing I want to read.

I wandered around B&N today with book money and a coupon for 20% off burning a hole in my pocket, metaphorically speaking.  They had a gigantic teen section with separate subsections for PNR/fantasy, general, and romance.  The mystery and romance sections were maybe half of what they used to be.  None of the authors I was looking for were in stock:  none of CS Harris’s backlist, no Ilona Andrews, the third book in Leckie’s series but neither of the other two, etc.  I could, of course, order them from B&N.  Or I could order them from Amazon for less and have them arrive sooner.  Or I could spend my time doing something other than reading, which is most likely to happen.

This is how a life-long reader stops being a reader and how B&N loses business.

D:

~~~

The Martian was pretty good.

I’m interested in seeing Sufragette, despite the fact that Carey Mulligan is the main character.  (She seems really one note to me in all the roles I’ve seen her in.)  But Meryl Streep.

2 Comments

Filed under Book related

2 responses to “Reading ennui

  1. Time for some rereading??? Browsing in a library? Used book store(s) for serendipitous finds?

    • My local library is the main branch of the Enoch Pratt library. They’ve got a huge collection but the public stacks are tiny. The stuff that’s out is mostly big name or new releases or themed. Browsing is not great. The two UBSes near me do not carry genre fiction. I’ve pulled some stuff off the shelf to reread. We’ll see.

Leave a comment